Oct. 21, 2008

Matrimony is called holy, because this brave and fateful promise of a man and a woman, to love and honor and serve each other through thick and thin, looks beyond itself to more fateful promises still, and speaks mightily of what human life at its most human and most alive and most holy must always be. Every wedding is a dream, and every word that is spoken there means more than it says, and every gesture – the clasping of hands, the giving of rings – is rich with mystery.  (Frederick Buechner)

The best in me
Look at us and try to see
look at me
I´m your love and misery

The best in you
I understand what you can do
understand me
I´m your love and misery
(Tobias Froberg)

We asked last week for requests from our listeners for their ideas on a gift of music to a friend who is getting married.  We received lots of great ideas from those of you who have been married forever, and some who are no longer married and others who are not yet married.  There is no doubt that, as Beuchner says, to marry someone is a brave and holy act, rich with mystery.  Beyond being an intimate event, it continues to be a matter of great fascination and conversation in our larger culture.

The more public marriage celebration, however, is perhaps universally an opportunity for a great party.  And it should be accompanied by good music, as all major life events should be (in our view, anyway.)  Tonight we will be playing all of your requests for music that you’d give someone about to take this mysterious, holy and joyful step.  We have songs from Bright Eyes and Dylan, Neil Young and The Postal Service, Sufjan Stevens, Rufus Wainwright, Swedish songwriter Tobias Froberg, Ben Folds as well as new local music from The Get Up Johns and A Night in the Box and others.  This is going to be a very special show – we hope you can join us.

Playlist
Comes A Time-Neil Young
Love And Misery-Tobias Froberg/Ane Brun
In The Eye Abides The Heart-Beth Nielson Chapman
First Day Of My Life-Bright Eyes
Tonight I’ll Be Staying Here With You-Bob Dylan
To Be Alone With You-Sufjan Stevens
Damn Sam (I Love A Woman That Rains)-Ryan Adams
If I Should Fall Behind-Bruce Springsteen 
Live On My Mind-Bruce Cockburn
The Luckiest-Ben Folds
I Don’t Know What It Is-Rufus Wainwright
Such Great Heights-The Postal Service
You Are The Everything-R.E.M.
I Will Follow You Into The Dark-Death Cab For Cutie
A Case Of You-Diana Krall
Easy Silence-Dan Wilson
I Know I Know I Know-Tegan and Sara
You Make Me Brave-Billy Bragg
Walk These Hills-The Get Up Johns
Washburn Blues-The Floorbirds
Rich Man’s Table-A Night In The Box
All Over Again-Johnny Cash
How Long Will I Love You-The Waterboys
For Every Drop-Sonya Kitchell
The Grieved Soul- Rick Moody
Hallelujah-Drew Holcomb and The Neighbors
I Will Dare-The Replacements

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Oct. 21, 2008

  1. Nice Site layout for your blog. I am looking forward to reading more from you.

    Tom Humes

Leave a Reply

